Space and Aviation

Etihad Airways Awarded With IATA’s Level 4 NDC Certification

The national carrier of the United Arab Emirates (UAE) strengthens its relation with International Air Transport Association (IATA) by receiving the New Distribution Capability (NDC) Level 4 certification award.  The award focuses on enhancing better communication between the airline industry and travel agents. With the NDC certification award, Etihad Airways is allowed to have higher and effective merchandising, competitive propositions, and product personalization.

Vijay Bathija, who is a Vice President of Revenue Management in Etihad Airways said, “ Achieving IATA’s Level 4 NDC certification is an important milestone in Etihad’s accelerated digital transformation program, and a necessity to connect with major players and aggregators”.

He further adds that accepting the agile delivery model, which NDC Level 4 Certification provides is proof of Etihad’s commitment to providing extra choices and greater flexibility to their trade partners and customers. “The capability gives Etihad the ability to create tailored offers and communicate more effectively with customers, to best meet their travel needs and respond quickly to changing market conditions”, he adds later.

What is New Distribution Capability (NDC)?
New Distribution Capability (NDC) is a travel industry-supported program launched by IATA for the development and market adoption of a new, XML-based data transmission standard (NDC Standard). NDC enables the travel industry to transform the way air products are retailed to corporations, leisure, and business travelers. The NDC Standard enhances the capability of communications between airlines and travel agents and is open to any third party, intermediary, IT provider, or non-IATA member, to implement and use.

The IATA passed NDC allows Etihad a standard model of customizing the products and services targeted from retail to corporations. The standard also allows Etihad to limit the industry’s current distribution with the approaches like time-to-market and product differentiation to their leisure and business travelers.

However, Level 4 is much more than just standard NDC certification. Being the highest NDC certifications awarded by IATA, Etihad can now launch full service and change capability in its new offers. This allows  Etihad’s partners to shop, order, and amend the order through the NDC connection.

Yanik Hoyles, the Director Distribution in IATA, congratulates Etihad Airways for achieving the Level 4 NDC Certification Award. He also adds, “Receiving Level 4 NDC Certification is a major achievement on Etihad’s airline retailing journey, one that will provide travelers with richer content and increased transparency regardless of distribution channel”.

In February, Etihad Airways also made a record for becoming the world’s first airline to vaccinate 100% of its flying crew. Similarly, the airline along with Emirates was also the first airline to trail IATA’s Travel Pass.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button